What are you doing with your time?

30 05 2006

During Mike Walsh’s Future of Media speech, he asked what the new generation are doing with their time.

Well Mike, my media intake is heavy on podcasts, the odd copy of AFR (if I can’t read it for free in a cafe – I only read the Information section), plenty of imported magazines (WIRED, Business 2.0, F@st Company, Technology Review and New Scientist – thankyou Borders) and a little Foxtel on the side (MegaMachines, Techknowledge, etc). I browse via Technorati and Gnoos.

What I don’t spend any of my media attention on is: radio and newspapers.

He speaks extensively on high culture vs low culture, but I disagree with his views on this.

Just so you know Mike, the “dumbing down” of media in Australia is why my old media intake has reduced to zero. I’m not interested in the ratings-prostitution of “news” TV such as Today Tonight, I’d rather read an independent journo’s blog, it contains far less FUD.

With 10 years online, I’m in the older group of the new generation (X/Y cusper to be exact) and I can tell you why old media is dying, it sucks.

I can’t get the content I want. I’m willing to pay for it, it’s just not available.
Money is not the issue, availability is the issue. There is no way to pay for something that’s not available.

I strongly disagree with Mike that the new generation is not willing to pick up the tab. More FUD. The new generation is sick of hearing the old media bartender saying “we only serve scotch, straight up, cash only”.

I want the Information section from AFR (not available every day) + blog feeds + podcasts + technology TV shows (okay, and Criminal Intent).

I want the content when it’s new, not 5 days later, 6 months later or 2 years later.

I no longer buy music CDs because I’m sick of waiting 2 years for a US album to become available in Australia. Now the only new CDs I get are gifts. Old media is simply too irritating to deal with, even with digital downloads (DRM makes me pay multiple times for content I already own). Podcasts are my replacement.

I’m re-routing around old media, as it wastes my time.

Oh and that speech could also have been distributed as audio only, a talking head adds no value. You just wasted my valuable bandwidth.

So I guess the final answer to his question is, I’m spending my time more wisely, only on the content I want. I’m trying to Get Things Done.
[transplanted from Typepad]

Actions

Information

One response

22 01 2007
scientaestubique

What are you doing with your time?

This post moved to WordPress.

Leave a Reply

