Firefox 3 Robots Welcome the Humans

18 06 2008

robots - in Firefox Awesome Bar

I love the about:robots easter egg in Firefox 3 and have had a few people ask me what it means and who put it there. For those wondering where these bits of electronic fun come from, here’s the deal. Bug #417302 was logged in Bugzilla, originally requesting a page which changed all your open tab Favicons to an animated robot. This was deemed too invasive (thanks Justin Dolske!), but the robot part was expanded to what you now see today. If you read through all the notes in the Bug log, you’ll see how hard the developers work, even on the little things, to bring Firefox into the world, for free, in as many languages as possible.

Thanks Firefox developers, I love Firefox 3 and Firefox users around the world appreciate all your hard work.


Actions

Information

3 responses

19 06 2008
TPN :: The Global Geek Podcast » Blog Archive » Over Five and a Half Million Downloads for Firefox 3 so far

[…] those who have yet to see it, I’m a huge fan of the about:robots easter egg in Firefox 3 and the awesome robot art that goes with it. Lifehacker […]

16 07 2008
Robbed

The strange thing is that I have about “about:robots” as my homepage.

To all IE users out there – TAKE THE REDPILL!

30 04 2009
Bill

I like the Issac Asimov reference in the first bullet. Not many people get that anymore….

Leave a comment